About us

Who we are

Gerd - Enthusiastic IT specialist

I also love soccer, hiking and photography.

Ursula - Artist 

I also love nordic walking, hiking and everything creative.

How it all started

My (Ursula's) interest for North America was captured when I saw a photo of the Manhattan skyline at a friend's house. These skyscrapers, seemingly growing out of the water, immediately exerted a fascination for me. Fortunately, my parents were quickly convinced and so, starting in August 1992, we planned our first vacation to the USA. We went on a 3-week round trip through the Southwest, followed by three days in New York. After all, I wanted to see the skyscrapers.

Our journey together

After I was infected with the USA virus in 1992, in 1994 our first joint trip to my new favorite travel destination followed. Luckily, Gerd was also immediately enthusiastic. Since then, we have regularly spent our vacations in the United States. Although the Southwest is our favorite region, we also enjoy the variety that the other parts of this huge country offer. We always plan our trips individually. The diversity of nature, the great cities, the lovely, friendly people, the very easy and uncomplicated travel, all these are reasons for us to return to the United States again and again.

Since 1998, Canada has also been on our itinerary from time to time. Despite the fact we first only visited Canada because of the bad weather in the USA, we immediately liked the great nature of the Canadian Rockies. However, not only the western but also the eastern part of the country is definitely worth more than one trip.

A little statistics

0
Number of our joint USA-trips
0
Number of states visited together
0
Days together in the USA
0
Miles driven
0
Number of our joint Canada-trips
0
Number of provinces visited together
0
Days together in Canada
0
Miles driven

About this website

Creating this website has been on our minds for a long time. On the one hand, we were able to document our own experiences and remember them over and over again, and on the other hand, we have already received so much great information from other travelers that our site may also be able to provide some inspiration. So I started in January 2019 to deal with web design and everything that belongs to a website. Gerd takes care of all the technical requirements and provides the raw material in the form of the many wonderful photos. I then do the rest of the creative process such as texts, image editing, selection and design and management of the site.

In early May 2019, the site went online for the first time. Since then I've learned a lot about creating a website and it's still a lot of fun to expand and improve it. Then in early 2020 Covid 19 hits and that gave me the time to finally get to work on translating the site into English as well. Now we hope it will soon be possible to visit the USA again, so we can keep filling this site with content.

After traveling to Canada in the fall of 2021, we decided to expand our site with our experiences in Canada. So Individual through the USA will become Individual through North America in late fall 2021.

Our ratings

We have rated all the locations we have visited with stars. This rating is of course completely subjective and simply reflects our taste. 

5/5
4/5
3/5
2/5
1/5

Must See

very worth seeing

worth seeing

ok, but not worth a detour

not worth the trip

Some of my works

One of my passions is drawing. Among other things, I am a watercolor teacher and of course we paint the one or the other North America motif.

Über uns

Wer sind wir?

Gerd – Begeisterter IT-ler

Außerdem liebe ich Fußball, Wandern und Fotografieren.

Ursula – Künstlerin 

Außerdem liebe ich Walken, Wandern und alles Kreative.

Wie alles begann

Mein (Ursula) Interesse für die USA wurde geweckt, als ich ein Foto der Skyline von Manhattan bei einer Freundin sah. Diese, scheinbar aus dem Wasser wachsenden Hochhäuser, übten auf mich sofort eine Faszination aus. Da wollte ich auch hin. Zum Glück waren meine Eltern schnell überzeugt und so zogen wir im August 1992 los. Wir unternahmen eine 3-wöchige Rundreise durch den Südwesten, gefolgt von drei Tagen in New York. Ich wollte ja die Hochhäuser sehen.

Unser gemeinsames Reisen

Nachdem ich mich 1992 mit dem USA-Virus infiziert hatte, folgte 1994 unsere erste gemeinsame Reise in mein neues Lieblingsreiseland. Meine Hoffnung erfüllte sich und Gerd war auch sofort begeistert. Abgesehen von einer längeren Pause zwischen 2002 und 2009 fliegen wir seither regelmäßig in die USA. Obwohl der Südwesten unsere Lieblingsregion ist, haben wir durchaus auch Freude an der Abwechslung die die anderen Teile dieses riesigen Landes bieten. Unterwegs sind wir dabei immer individuell. Wir planen und organisieren alles selbst und sind immer mit dem Mietwagen unterwegs. Pauschalreisen sind nicht unser Ding. Die Vielfalt der Natur, die tollen Städte, die liebenswerten, freundlichen Menschen, das sehr leichte und unkomplizierte Reisen, all das sind für uns Gründe immer wieder zu kommen.

Ein wenig Statistik

0
Anzahl unserer gemeinsamen Reisen
0
Anzahl gemeinsam besuchter Bundesstaaten
0
Gemeinsame Tage in den USA
0
Gefahrene Meilen

Über diese Webseite

Diese Webseite zu gestalten schwebte schon lange in meinem Kopf. Zum Einen weil man in dieser Form die eigenen Erlebnisse konservieren und sich immer wieder daran zurück erinnern kann und zum Anderen weil wir selber schon so viele tolle Informationen von anderen Reisenden bekommen haben und so mit unserer Seite vielleicht auch dem einen oder anderen eine Anregung für den eigenen Urlaub liefern können. So machte ich mich also im Januar 2019 daran mich mit Webdesign und allem was so zu einer Webseite gehört auseinander zu setzen. Gerd kümmert sich dabei um alle technischen Voraussetzungen und  liefert das Rohmaterial in Form der vielen wunderbaren Fotos und ich übernehme dann den Rest des kreativen Prozesses wie Texte, Bildbearbeitung, Auswahl sowie Gestaltung und Verwaltung der Seite.

Anfang Mai 2019 ging die Seite dann zum ersten Mal online. In der Zwischenzeit habe ich so einiges dazugelernt und es macht immer noch viel Spaß daran herumzubasteln. Dann kam Anfang 2020 Corona und das schuf mir die Zeit, mich auch endlich mit der Übersetzung der Seite ins Englische zu beschäftigen. Wir hoffen beide, dass es bald wieder möglich ist in unser Lieblingsreiseland zu fliegen, damit wir diese Seite immer weiter mit Inhalten füllen können.

Unsere Bewertungen

Wir haben alle Locations die wir besucht haben mit Sternen bewertet. Diese Bewertung ist selbstverständlich völlig subjektiv und spiegelt einfach unseren Geschmack wieder. 

5/5
4/5
3/5
2/5
1/5

Must See

Sehr sehenswert

Sehenswert

Ok, aber keinen Umweg wert

Den Weg nicht wert

Ein paar meiner Werke

Eine meiner Leidenschaften gehört der Malerei. Wenn nicht gerade ein gewisser Virus das gesamte kulturelle Leben lahmlegt, gebe ich Aquarell-Kurse und natürlich kommt dabei auch das eine oder anderen USA-Motiv zum Zug.